top of page

A Rocking unicorn,

Back in January I decided it would be wonderful to refurbish the wooden rocking unicorn I had made back in 1995 for my sons first Christmas. It would make the perfect gift for his daughters first birthday in February. This turned out to be quite a mission as first I had to remove quite a bit of old varnish and the decoupage I had done at the time. It took a combination of sanding, using scrapper tools, soaking the decoupage with wet cloths to try peel off , and some liquid which is meant to remove old paint and varnish but did nothing.

So here it is, in my studio, just a little way into the sanding and stripping.

Once that was done, it was off to my uncle who put it securely back on its rockers, and gave it the once over to make sure it was good and safe.

Now for the fun part, repainting and designing a new face.

Three coats of white paint first, just to be sure it was covered. Before drawing on the new design. No decoupage this times, after all who knows I may be around in 20 or so years to do it all again for Ellies child.

So there she is, all freshly painted, and fit for a wee princess. I used the little Resene test pot paints for the details, perfect size, clean up in water, and great range of colours .

Of course the fun part was wrapping it very carefully in layers of bubble wrap and flying it over to Perth Australia with me. Many amused looks, as it faced ahead on the trolley's and thanks very much to Quanta's crew for looking after it in cargo hold. Arrived safely from New Zealand back to Perth where it was originally made.

Dad was just as keen as Ellie to pull the bubble wrap off.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page